Take our new Calendar for a spin!
Click wherever the dates are bold, then click on the event for full details!

Borrowed, Blue, Old and New

Sheer genius!

By Michael Buss, 2011-08-29

The program for Sept 25th has completely changed, so this article is now not relevant -- Editor.

We are not sure who may be getting married, but the September 25th concert to be given by Anaheim's resident OC Wind Symphony band comes under the title “Borrowed, Blue, Old and New”

Toccata and Fugue
If J. S. Bach’s Toccata and Fugue in D Minor is the “Old”, we are in for a treat. Does anybody not shiver right through to this dramatic piece? But will Director Anthony Parnther ditch the organ in favor of a wind band rendering? Or are we bringing in an organ?

After a quick email to the Symphony Parnther replied: "The Wind Symphony will be performing arguably the most famous work for the organ, but will be playing the role of the organ itself. That is part of the magic of this work!"

Now that will be exciting! Folks, get the date on your calendar.

Jazzy number

Frank Ticheli, b. 1958.

Blue Shades, composed by Frank Ticheli in 2002 is certainly a contemporary piece – if by that we mean a fun, jazzy piece. It’s a foot-tapper with a great clarinet solo. At times it sounds like a train speeding through the countryside, roaring through tunnels and over bridges with the whole band on board, playing furiously.

Solo Saxophone
The Concerto for Soprano Saxophone by John Mackey is the very embodiment of the way a saxophone is made.

John Mackey

Mackey explains, “To me, the saxophone is a kind of hybrid instrument; it’s essentially a brass instrument with a woodwind reed on it. Instead of valves like a brass instrument has, the sax has keys like a woodwind. (Many sax players even switch effortlessly from sax to a woodwind like a clarinet, and back again in the same concert.)

“So, I had an instrument made of three materials: felt (the pads of the keys), metal (the body), and wood (the reed) . … This realization gave me the central idea for the piece: a multi-movement work with the inner movements called Felt, Metal, and Wood”

Our soloist for the Concerto will be Tristan Willems, who studied saxophone with Alfred Gallodoro and Fred Hemke in the United States. He has performed world premieres of many works for saxophone with orchestra, band and piano at Carnegie Hall, the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, the Smithsonian Institution, and the New York's Merkin Concert Hall.

Tristan is also a member of the Adolphe SaxQuartette, one of the most exciting new ensembles to emerge in the saxophone quartet genre.

The program sounds a splendid way to open the fall season of music. And under the energetic baton of Anthony Parnther we can be sure of a thrilling evening.

Time, Place and Tickets
Servite Theater Auditorium
1952 West La Palma Avenue
Anaheim, CA 92801

September 25th, 7pm.
$20 General Admission
$15 Students/Seniors
$225 General Season Ticket
$165 Students/Seniors Season Ticket (includes 4 Season Ticket for 6 onsite Concerts and 3 additional Concerts)

Call 714 778-0314 for tickets.



Click on any ad to get full details